Rose’s new Sponsor

I saw this image in a dream during my first week in Uganda. When I woke up, I emailed Adam asking him to bring white balloons. It was pretty cool seeing that image come to life.

I saw this image in a dream during my first week in Uganda. When I woke up, I emailed Adam asking him to bring white balloons. It was pretty cool seeing that image come to life.

Adam is sick. He was up all of last night, tossing and turning. It is common for people to get sick at the beginning of their stay here. The new food can upset the body, but Adam was sure that he had some serious disease and was quickly dying. Luckily, my mother made me bring some pretty strong medications which we decided it was best for Adam to take. He has been in bed all day but at this point, he is pretty sure that he will make it through to see tomorrow.
I have written about Rose, the young girl who was orphaned when she was 3 weeks old, and taken in by the house mothers at Sabina. If you haven’t read my summary of her story, please do. After hearing her history, I knew that she needed a sponsor, desperately. She begins school in a year and if she has a sponsor, she has the possibility of being under the care and protection of Children of Uganda. Pamela, I know we have not spoken about this yet, but I thought I’d try finding her support before getting in contact with you.

Yesterday morning at a meeting with Auntie Deborah and Uncle Jude (the headmaster), Adam announced that he officially wanted to be Rose’s sponsor. The entire staff celebrated and Auntie Agnes, Rose’s surrogate mother, was close to tears when she hugged him. Adam wanted to sponsor a girl because he sees the lack of female power in this country. He hopes to send Rose all the way through University, paying her school fees and keeping in contact with her through out her journey. I am so proud of him and happy for Rose.
All the while, there are still 15 children from Children of Uganda that we are in the process of putting on tape. They are all in need of sponsors and co-sponsors and I hope to show their tapes to you when I return home. Sponsoring a child through Children of Uganda is an easy and rewarding process. A little bit of money each month gives a child a future brighter than they could have ever hoped for. Staying in contact through letters and eventually, emails and even phone conversations is optional, but so fulfilling. Getting to know your child on a personal level makes things very real. This is an actual child who knows your name and is grateful to you every day. They are all so anxious to learn and happily thriving in life here in Uganda. Fifteen children that I am putting on tape are all in need of support so if you, or if you know someone, who might be interested in giving the gift of knowledge to a child here, please let me know. You will be seeing many beautiful children on camera upon my return!

Standard

Leave a Reply

